Faked Miniatures

I’m a bad blogger, I know. I was doing well for a while, though! I have cooked lots of delicious foods this week–but nothing looked good enough for photos.

So here’s something completely different–fake miniature cities. With a few steps of photoshop, I turned some of my mediocre photos into macro shots of cute little scenes.


This is my favorite one! The original photo was taken on our cruise down the Nile in Egypt.  I think along with the first two photos, this one looks the most like a miniature.

I followed this tilt-shift tutorial. I’d been wanting to try for some of these photos for a while but never though I had any pictures that would work. So I just tried it out on a lot of different photos, some working better than others. The trick is to have photos taken from a relatively high angle with a lot of depth.

4 Responses to “Faked Miniatures”


  1. 2 Sara 16 April 2010 at 8:31 pm

    This is so neat!! I love miniature cities and these really look like it! It’s cute that you can do this in Photoshop, I’ll have to give it a try sometime.

  2. 3 Amie 19 April 2010 at 4:05 am

    Wow this is so cool – I had no idea you could do this! I’ve always been in awe of those miniature cities, and just realized it may all be a fraud…just really good editing!

    Love your blog, thanks for all the fun!

  3. 4 onedadslife 21 April 2010 at 6:41 pm

    Those are some seriously cool pictures. Thanks for sharing them.


Leave a comment




Jabberwocky

'Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe;
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe.