Puppy Chow (for humans)

Puppy Chow:

Not to be confused with this:

I look forward to Puppy Chow all year round; it really is one of my favorite parts of the holidays!

I remember making this with my parents and/or my brother a lot. It was even packaged in cute little bags and handed out to my elementary school teachers a a few times. It apparently didn’t hold such significance in Joseph’s childhood, as he still seems disgusted every time I call it “Puppy Chow.”


This is all you need! Super easy.

Puppy Chow
½ cup peanut butter
¼ cup butter
1 cup chocolate chips
½ teaspoon vanilla
9 cups Chex cereal
1 ½ cups powdered sugar

Combine peanut butter, butter and chocolate chips in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave for one minute then stir to blend all ingredients thoroughly. Add vanilla. Stir well.

Place the cereal in a large bowl. Pour the peanut butter-chocolate mixture over the cereal and toss evenly, making sure all the cereal gets a good covering.

Coat with powdered sugar, sprinkling evenly over the cereal and tossing as you sprinkle to cover each piece well.

Alternatively, place cereal mixture in a gallon-size ziplock bag. Pour in powdered sugar, zip bag, and shake until covered. Done!

5 Responses to “Puppy Chow (for humans)”


  1. 1 Dana 9 December 2010 at 6:20 pm

    It’s so ridiculously good, isn’t it? My daycare used to make it for snack, so it always brings me right back to being a little kid. That was back in the days of peanut butter being allowed to be in daycares though. It’s crazy how much things change in a matter of a decade or so.

  2. 2 Alyssa 9 December 2010 at 7:12 pm

    It’s incredible! One of the few things that tastes just as good as an adult as I remember it being as a kid. Now if only Christmas could be that fun again!

  3. 3 Paula 10 December 2010 at 2:30 am

    It looks so good! I like this idea :)

    have a nice time,
    Paula

  4. 4 Victoria McCoy 12 December 2010 at 11:18 am

    I just made three batches of it today for TeacherChristmasPresents/Snackin’! EAT IT! IT’LL PUT HAIR ON YOUR CHEST!


  1. 1 Fast Handmade Gifts « In the Wabe Trackback on 20 December 2010 at 4:23 pm

Leave a comment




Jabberwocky

'Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe;
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe.